Gujarat Local Body Elections, Voting underway in 7 major cities of Gujarat

Voting in the civic polls in six major cities of Gujarat is underway amid tight security and adherence to COVID-19 norms, officials said. The voting began at 7 am and will continue till 5 pm. The municipal corporation elections in Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar are being seen as a test for Chief Minister Vijay Rupani as it may set the tone for the Assembly polls slated for next year. Votes will be cast for a total of 575 seats with each ward having four corporators, and 2,276 candidates, comprising 577 from the BJP, 566 from the Congress, 470 from AAP, 91 from NCP, 353 from other parties and 228 Independents, are in the fray, officials informed.